Timeline: From initial crime to present day

In response to comments by Joe Reason, it occurs to me that an objective observer of this case could benefit from a timeline. Understand, this is my timeline, written from my own perspective. I was not an eye-witness to everything. But if anything, this may help you understand my motivations at this particular time. I reserve the right, and probability, that I will need to come back and edit this in the future.

1986 Floyd Rupple (@27yo?) begins sexually abusing Suzanne, who is 12yo – her story

1988 Suzanne reveals molestation to childhood friend Melissa Tabasso, née Snell. Within a couple weeks, Melissa tells her parents. The Snells then tell Suzanne’s father, Bob Lewis.

1988 Bob Lewis, the victim’s father (and mine), is the pastor of a church. Bob confronts Floyd, who initially denies, but within a couple hours confesses. Bob makes the decision to handle this as a “church matter”, convincing everyone to not inform the State. Floyd is removed from church leadership and made to confess publicly. People present then don’t recall now any specific details being mentioned. At least one leader claims it was only referred to as something of a “sexual nature”. There is a family meeting where Floyd confesses to “touching” Suzanne “one time”.

1989 I was living in New York at the time all this went down. Sometime after, on a visit, my mother tells me the story. Unaware that she’s hoping I’ll have a shocked reaction, I say something along the lines of, “well, I trust Dad’s doing what’s right”.

1992/3 In her late teens, Suzanne finds courage to reveal to Dad that Floyd’s offense was not a one time event. Apparently Floyd’s first confession was to a single instance. I’m not sure that Dad told anyone the details of the original confession. In any case, Dad holds a family meeting with everyone present. He tells us Floyd’s confessed again, he’s made to apologize to Suzanne, and we’re all to accept that.

1995-2005 Due to other circumstances, I had a separation from my sister for many years. We spoke of nothing. Upon resumption of relationship, at some point the topic of Floyd came up. Suzanne told me some details, of which I was unaware, showing that my assumption of the slight severity of the molestation was very wrong.

Nov 2011 Because of my experience in the prosecution of the rapist of my daughter, I began to encourage Suzanne to consider same. Given that the youngest of Floyd’s children had turned 18yo, Suzanne felt more open to consider. At a meeting of Suzanne’s siblings, her sister Amy, now Floyd’s ex-wife, gave her consent to Suzanne’s prosecution.

Dec 2011 Suzanne goes to Pennsylvania State Police, who agree to go after Floyd. They were particularly pleased that Melissa was available, whom they labeled an “outcry witness“. They interviewed Bob Lewis. They interviewed me and asked me to wear a wire and record a conversation with Floyd. I agreed and we began making arrangements.

11 Jan 2012 State Trooper informs us that she had just been made aware by the Deputy District Attorney of problems with Statute of Limitations. She was unaware until this point. Case work is documented, but dropped.

23 Jan 2012 Suzanne posts her first account. This was the first time I’d ever heard the word “ejaculate” to describe the molestation. I have it second hand, that when Dad read Suzanne’s account, he was shocked. This coming from the man who heard both of Floyd’s “confessions”.

Apr 2012 FloydRupple.com is brought online. Initially it is just the home page that exists to this day.

25 July 2012 The following comment was posted Anonymously to Suzanne’s original story:

OMG! He works at our company. Someone here found your post and let everyone else here know. No one can even look at him. We are all in shock. HR knows – I don’t know what’s going to happen. So sorry that this happened to you.

16 October 2012 Floyd files libel suit against Suzanne, Eric and Jane and John Does (all blog commenters). Shockingly, the suit declares that each and every claim of Suzanne’s is a lie.

Mar 2013 The day before an interrogatory is due, Floyd expresses a desire to settle. Suzanne and I agree to take down our sites during negotiations. 

Oct 2013 Suzanne completes an agreement with Floyd

Nov 2013 FloydRupple.com goes live again.

Dec 2013 Floyd Rupple’s motion for a temporary restraining order and preliminary injunction against Eric Lewis is DENIED.

Dec 2013 Floyd Rupple’s motion to seal the record and sanction Eric Lewis DENIED.

 

1 thought on “Timeline: From initial crime to present day

  1. Pingback: Wrongfully Accused | Floyd Elmer Rupple, Jr sexually molested my 12yo sister

Leave a comment